The Jack and Jill Coaching Inn is a 18th century Grade 2 listed building located adjacent to the Scaling Dam Reservoir on the northern edge of the North York Moors National Park.
The building was listed by Historic England in 1987 and more recently permission was granted by the National Park Authority for a sympathetic refurbishment and contemporary extension. The current owners have re-established the 18th Century Coaching Inn as a destination on the road between Guisborough and Whitby. In the 1800's the Union horse drawn coach ran from Guisborough, Stockton, Sunderland and Diligence to Scarborough stopping at the Coaching Inn on route and one of the last coaches to run in Yorkshire was the Guisborough to Whitby Mail.
The interior still retains the original beamed ceilings and stone inglenook fireplace with with flat surround and moulded corbels, flanked by a salt box and spice cupboard with panelled door. It is now a unique, contemporary space with beautiful views across the Scaling Dam Reservior. The reservoir was constructed in 1958 and has an area of 42 ha (105 acres) making it the largest freshwater lake in the area.
The Jack & Jill Coaching Inn now provides seating for 100 people within the ground floor tearoom and restaurant with nine high quality bedrooms on the upper floors. Outside there are seating areas where visitors can enjoy the views of the reservoir and moorland beyond, a large children's play area, an 18 hole adventure golf course and table tennis table.